Loading component ...

Bing & Ruth

City Lake



Release Date: November 13, 2015

If your order contains a pre-order record, it will be held and shipped complete when pre-order stock arrives.

Before Bing & Ruth’s halcyonic opus Tomorrow Was the Golden Age, there was City Lake. Initially pressed in an unusually limited edition five years ago, the ensemble’s stunning full-length debut is now released in simultaneously refined and expanded form. With bonus tracks and new, visceral mastering, the album gleams all the more and signals a spree of live performances this fall revisiting the material.

As the principal leader of Bing & Ruth, David Moore assembles his orchestral roster according to the scope of each piece and recording setting. For City Lake, Bing & Ruth consisted of eleven members: two clarinetists (Jeremy Viner and Patrick Breiner), two cellists (Greg Heffernan and Leigh Stuart), two vocalists (Becca Stevens and Jean Rohe), a bassist (Jeff Ratner), a lap-steel player (Myk Freedman), a faithful tape-delay engineer (Mike Effenberger), a percussionist (Chris Berry), and Moore on piano.

City Lake is shepherded into concrete pastures by Moore’s weightless piano melodies, immersed as they are in grand shapes of breath-like horn, string and voice phrases. Augmented with more percussive proclivity than TWTGA, City Lake establishes Bing & Ruth’s ambient brand through a greater gamut of material mediums. If TWTGA opened its shutter to the imperceptible shifts of transitions between darkness and light, City Lake was composed to be less ethereal, instead embodying a group-oriented musicality and physicality.

On City Lake, there are instances of Reich-ian excitement with the hand clapped rhythms of “Rails” and a seance of sorts excorsized by the brush-tapped “Put Your Weight Into It.” Dual track “City Lake / Tu Sei Uwe” culminates the urbanized form of ambience with tonal elements in free-fall, piling-up in a harsh denouement of the album’s title piece. Further into the program David Moore’s intrigue with Gavin Bryars and Thomas Newman finds delicate voice in the hibernative “Here’s What Your Missin,” a track redolent of all the narcotic power of which Bing & Ruth are capable.

City Lake sets the standard met by Bing & Ruth’s sonorous sophomore journey Tomorrow Was The Golden Age. In this earlier portrait, the ensemble graces its listeners with gail-force movements from the wake of Bing & Ruth’s gliding wings leaving trails in the skyline. City Lake was RVNG’s chance introduction to Bing & Ruth, mistakenly handed off as unmarked test pressings by the vinyl manufacturer.

Bing & Ruth’s City Lake is available now on RVNG Intl. as a limited edition double LP, CD and digital formats.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. Broad Channel (5:56)
A2. Put Your Weight Into It (12:02)

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. And Then it Rained (4:52)
B2. Rails (8:02)

Side C (33 RPM)
C1. City Lake / Tu Sei Uwe (15:09)

Side D (33 RPM)
D1. Broad Channel / A Little Line in a Round Face (10:07)
D2. Here’s What You’re Missin (7:42)


01. Broad Channel (5:56)
02. Put Your Weight Into It (12:01)
03. And Then it Rained (4:52)
04. Rails (8:00)
05. City Lake / Tu Sei Uwe (15:09)
06. Broad Channel / A Little Line in a Round Face (10:04)
07. Here’s What You’re Missin (8:45)
08. You’re Gonna Need That When He’s Gone (Bonus Track) (0:45)
09. In This Ruined House (Bonus Track) (6:03)
10. Broad Channel (Solo Piano) (Bonus Track) (2:47)