Mirror Mirror


— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


August 16th, 2011

MIRROR MIRROR, the New York based duo of David Riley and Ryan Lucero, bring their avant-pop explorations to RVNG Intl. with the release of Interiors, the ten-song follow up to their debut album, The Society for the Advancement of Inflammatory Consciousness.

Recorded in two parts, Interiors features the production work of Chris Coady (Beach House, Gang Gang Dance, Zola Jesus), who helped realize an expansive sound from Mirror Mirror’s home-studio recordings. The other album half, aided by Joshua da Costa’s monstrous and metronomic live drumming, was produced by Thomas Asenault and Zeljko McMullen at So Many Fields (Brooklyn, NY).

Interiors deals in themes of secret societies, escapist fantasies, and psychological extremes. “Sublime Objective” opens the album in the mind’s eye of an adventurer attempting a daring mountain climb. “Under the Sun” rollicks under ray-baked guitars until it’s split in two by a cameo from SSION front man Cody Critcheloe. “Dot Dot Dot” mutates an R&B midi-bass line, before “Sick City” tours an underworld of nightwalkers and plastic shamans. The acid-inflected “Starseed” adapts a futurist Timothy Leary lecture, promising listeners “bread and dope for a thousand years.” Album namesake “Interiors” describes a recluse who shuts out worldly distractions, while the stringed cavalcade of “Open Wide” leads to new psychedelic pop pastures. The album closes with “Overpower / Overjoy,” an industrially flourished, whip-cracking serenade of sorts.

Interiors is available now on LP and across digital formats via RVNG Intl.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. Sublime Objective
A2. Under The Sun
A3. Dot Dot Dot
A4. Sick City
A5. Starseed

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. Interiors
B2. Half Life
B3. Odd Fellows
B4. Open Wide
B5. Overpower / Overjoy


01. Sublime Objective
02. Under The Sun
03. Dot Dot Dot
04. Sick City
05. Starseed
06. Interiors
07. Half Life
08. Odd Fellows
09. Open Wide
10. Overpower / Overjoy