In the Woods

— Edition of 750 LPs available individually.
— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


CAT #: FTS007
June 21, 2019

On Rimarimba’s 1985 album In The Woods, Robert Cox has made his music kit, an odd assortment of new and old technologies, lately fixated on the digital delay, and programming technologies, sing his own song at its most articulate clip. The songs seem more developed, fluent, like mini-suites in some sense.  By his third album, it’s clear Cox has recognised just how liberating technology can be – “All these intricate layers of things that I was trying to play, and didn’t have the musical ability to play, I could suddenly program them” – but he also recognises that if you head too far down that road, dull perfection is your bitter reward. Human music intoxicated and lurching through a new forest of machinery.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. Spafft Moutafft Seeall + California
A2. In The Can
A3. Firedance
A4. Bamboo Link + Couldn’t Top The Demo
A5. California + Saxes
A6. Clearview
A7. California + Bell
A8. Gone To Hell In An Even Smaller Bucket
A9. xit
A10. He’s A Good Lad

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. Pacific
B2. From 6 To 13
B3. California + Guitars
B4. Fitall Wall
B5. Gone To Hell In The Smallest Bucket Of All
B6. Few Parameters
B7. Bamboo Duck
B8. Hey! Almost Chinese Ain’t It?


01. Spafft Moutafft Seeall + California
02. In The Can
03. California + Saxes
04. xit
05. Pacific