Below the Horizon

— Edition of 750 LPs available individually.
— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


CAT #: FTS005
October 5, 2018

The first in the Rimarimba series, 1983’s Below The Horizon, feature Robert Cox in exploratory mode, figuring out exactly how to make his music. There’s a pleasure in hearing how he feels out the parameters of his aesthetic, here – there’s a boxy minimalism, slightly clunky and charming with it, that reflects the home-spun, improvisatory tenor of the compositions. It’s ambitious music, though, wanting to do the most and the best it can with its limited resources. Cox himself admits to not being “pre-wired” to making this music, but that only makes it more compelling: “Were I to be properly musical, it wouldn’t actually work as well in some ways; it’d be just another album of contemporary clattery music.”


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. Steady State
A2. Metal
A3. Gone To Hell In A Small Bucket
A4. The Melting
A5. The One That Got Away
A6. Ships

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. Bebag