Harald Grosskopf

Synthesist / Re-Synthesist

— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


February 15th, 2011

Synthesist is the debut album by Harald Grosskopf, the enigmatic percussionist behind Ash Ra TempelKlaus Schulze, and Cosmic Jokers. Originally released by Sky Records in 1980, RVNG Intl. celebrates the 30th year anniversary with this newly mastered and packaged reissue.

Berlin, Germany, summer of 1979, Harald Grosskopf, then 30 years old, was at a personal and creative crossroads. His girlfriend just left him, and Ashra (Manuel Göttsching’s “solo” project) was on temporary hiatus. Harald always considered himself a rhythmic accomplice to his numerous collaborators’ lead, until prompted by some fellow musician friends to pursue a singular creative vision.

Armed with a MiniMoog and Revox reel-to-reel, Grosskopf set off for the West German countryside that fall and isolated himself in a home studio for almost two months to record Synthesist. The temperamental analog synthesizer and sequencing technology created a long learning curve eventually resulting in a harmonious union of man and machine.

The human response undeniably colors the eight songs of Synthesist and aligns the album with some of the more melodic output of the Berlin School of Electronic Music. The title track and “Transcendental Overdrive” almost take on pop qualities. Harald’s live percussion opens up tracks like “So Weit, So Gut” and “Emphasis” for jammed out exploration. Where the album veers into the ambient space clusters of “B. Aldrian” or “Trauma”, it’s hard not to consider Synthesist the nexus of Krautrock, Kosmische, and New Age.

Re-Synthesist, the companion compilation to Synthesist, is an assemblage of reinterpretations of Grosskopf’s work by a new vanguard of electronic and experimental artists including Oneohtrix Point NeverBlondesArpStellar Om SourceCFCF, James Ferraro, and many others.

Although Synthesist has been unavailable on vinyl for almost three decades, it doesn’t fetch unfathomable collector fees. Selecting Synthesist as our first reissue is more about the connectivity to a new audience than the scarcity fetish for a select few. It’s about sharing Harald’s story and celebrating an album musically accomplished and compelling from start to end.

The Synthesist LP comes as a deluxe package on post-consumer recycled goods, including a unique reverse bound record jacket and full color liner notes by Harald Grosskopf in English and German. The Re-Synthesist compilation is only available with vinyl purchase, both available digitally through our usual storefront suspects.

Composed, arranged, and performed by Harald Grosskopf.
Produced by Harald Grosskopf.
“Space Sounds” performed by Udo Hanten.
Recorded by Eberhard Panne and Harald Grosskopf.
Basic tracks recorded late 1979 at Udo Hanten’s flat.
Additional recording & mixing at Panne & Paulsen Studios, Frankfurt, Germany.
Photography by Detlef Maugsch.
Original artwork by Siegfried Kottler.
Remastered by Graeme Durham at The Exchange.
Liner note translation by Mike Burns.
Art direction by Kevin O’Neill.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. So Weit, So Gut
A2. B. Aldrian
A3. Emphasis
A4. Synthesist

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. 1847- Earth
B2. Trauma
B3. Transcendental Overdrive
B4. Tai Ki


1. Bronze – So Weit, So Gut
2. CFCF – B. Aldrian
3. Jar Moff – B. Aldrian
4. Arp – Emphasis
5. JD Twitch – Emphasize
6. Blondes – Synthesist
7. Snoretex – Synthesist
8. Stellar Om Source – 1847 – Earth
9. Oneohtrix Point Never – Trauma 2010
10. Keyhole Voyeur (aka James Ferraro) – WISHMASTER (Transcendental Overdrive Zone)