Borden, Ferraro, Godin, Halo & Lopatin


— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.



The full-length player of FRKWYS Vol. 7 features pieces improvised in various forms by David BordenJames FerraroSamuel GodinLaurel Halo, and Daniel Lopatin.

When Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point NeverFord & Lopatin) and RVNG Intl. began discussing this FRKWYS collaboration, Borden’s work in Mother Mallard’s Portable Masterpiece Co. and his seminal Music For Amplified Keyboard Instruments album were mutually / ecstatically acknowledged. While rooted in academia, Borden’s minimalist compositions deal in natural themes, evoking expansive environments.

The idea to grow the project to include additional collaborators was inspired both by Borden’s accomplishments in ensemble improvisation and by a basic desire for collective energy and levity. Atlantic Sound Studio in DUMBO, Brooklyn became the meeting destination for Lopatin and Borden, alongside musicians Halo, Godin, and Ferraro.

Over two days in August 2010, the ensemble played infinitely. During tour breaks the following fall and winter, the endless hours of recordings were paired down to the selections of FRKWYS Vol. 7. The music of the album represents full session takes, edited only for time. The cosmically dense but dynamic nature of the recording reveals the diverse ingredients seasoning the spatial stew. “People of Wind” Parts 1 and 2 were amongst first takes from the two-day session. The pieces exhibit the ensemble in early harmony, allowing each other textural counterpoint play while avoiding rigidity. “Internet Gospel” Parts 1 and 2 demonstrate the players at ease and taking turns at solo accompaniments, ending in a Fourth World freak out. “Twilight Pacific” and “Just a Little Pollution” are compiled from middle points of the session – structured statements in solidarity.

The limited edition LP version of FRKWYS Vol. 7 is packaged in thick black jackets with a two-color adhesive wrap. 50 subscriber LPs come in leatherette jackets. The CD resembles a miniature version of the LP. Both LP and CD will be available July 17th, and digital download will be available July 30th at and through the usual storefront suspects.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. People of the Wind Pt. 1
A2. Internet Gospel Pt. 1

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. People of the Wind Pt. 2
B2. Internet Gospel Pt. 2
B3. Twilight Pacific


01. People of the Wind Pt. 1
02. Internet Gospel Pt. 1
03. People of the Wind Pt. 2
04. Internet Gospel Pt. 2
05. Twilight Pacific
06. Just A Little Pollution