Jacques Bon

Dawning Light

— Limited edition of 400 12″ vinyl. [SOLD OUT]
— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


CAT#: BIS027
March 31, 2017

Jacques Bon motions through the day’s early energy of Dawning Light. True to the record’s title, Bon composed the four tracks for his debut EP on Beats In Space Records in the morning sun, reflecting and refracting the colors of daybreak from his compositions.

Burning spheres aside, Bon draws inspiration from his past in Paris, where he slung records at Daphonics and started the record store Smallville with Pantha Du Prince, and his time in Hamburg, where he frequently helms the legendary decks at Golden Pudel. Both cities and their scenes offer crucial cues for Bon’s productions across Dawning Light and past releases for Smallville and Mule Musiq.

Beginning with licks from his Juno 106, filtered through the glide of a TB303, and foundational fits of his Roland drum arsenal, Bon embraces simplicity in setup to allow for maximum melody. Opening track “Island” assembles the palette of Dawning Light, infusing the EP with a warm glow. “We Are” twinkles like the first blinks of awakening, dusting away night’s sleep with golden beams trickled onto tangled bed sheets.

“Aurora” evokes the first rush of the refreshed energy, shaking off yesterday and centering the mind, body, and soul to power through the hours. The record’s title track bounces with youthful optimism, a fitting end for the four-tracker’s mission of morning praise.

Each 12″ on Beats in Space Records features original artwork in considerate and serial form. Andrew Kuo’s prismatic painting holds Dawning Light in good polychromatic company, the geometric colors a soft-coded entry point for Bon’s music. Constructed by WWFG, direct mail order copies of the 12” features a removable vinyl BIS logo cling.

Jacques Bon’s Dawning Light will be released March 31, 2017 on Beats In Space as a limited edition 12” and across digital formats. Physical purchase includes a free, high-quality, multi-format download.


Side A (45 RPM)
A1. Island
A2. We Are

Side B (45 RPM)
B1. Aura
B2. Dawning Light


01. Island
02. We Are
03. Aura
04. Dawning Light