Jaakko Eino Kalevi

Yin Yang Theatre

— Limited edition of 550 12″ vinyl. [SOLD OUT]
— Each purchase includes a multi-format download redeemable via Bandcamp.


CAT #: BIS015
June 24, 2014 (physical)
July 8, 2014 (digital)

Part-time tram driver and full-time disco disciple, Helsinki’s Jaakko Eino Kalevi catalyzes street smart funk into heat stroke for Yin Yang Theatre, his new EP on Beats In Space Records.

The title of Yin Yang Theatre came to Kalevi as an epiphany while dining in Washington Heights on a stateside holiday. “I was feeling bad about something and I thought that speaking out would be the solution. Almost immediately, I realized that confrontation is not the solution for every situation. The right balance is a combination of both: confrontation and patience. Yin Yang Theatre as a metaphor of life.”

While Jaakko’s enlightened metaphor guides the six songs of Yin Yang Theatre, it does not sequester their inspiration to separate sides of the platter. Instead, the inspiration bakes a perfect pie using the tracks’ irreverent and irresistibly bohemian ingredients.

Following the metaphor manifestation of “Speak Out”, Yin Yang Theatre’s second act is “Pass the Cat”, a step-by-step instruction manual for a midnight hour game made up on a late night during another one of Kalevi’s many NYC visits (think Hot Potato gone feline). Before intermission, “Sensaatio”, a love song sung in Jaakko’s native tongue, invokes the heel tripping effect of love at first sight.

The undulating analog ode to Greece of “Tecno Souvlaki” and “Let the Energy Be Your Teacher (Part 1)” explore even softer rocking inflections of Jaakko’s work at the top of side B before “XO-Tic Grlz”, a percussive deconstruction of “Pass the Cat”, quickens the EP from an introspective to extroverted finale.

Each 12″ on Beats in Space Records features original artwork in considerate and serial form. Hiroaki Koshiba, a frequent collaborator who paints during Jaakko’s live performances, composed Yin Yang Theatre’s artwork in similar practice. The 12″ packaging constructed by Will Work For Good features a removable vinyl BIS logo cling.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi’s Yin Yang Theatre is available now on Beats In Space as a limited edition 12” and across digital formats.


Side A (33 RPM)
A1. Speak Out
A2. Pass The Cat
A3. Sensaatio

Side B (33 RPM)
B1. Tecno Souvlaki
B2. Let The Energy Be Your Teacher (Part 1)
B3. XO-tic Grlz


01. Speak Out
02. Pass The Cat
03. Sensaatio
04. Tecno Souvlaki
05. Let The Energy Be Your Teacher (Part 1)
06. XO-tic Grlz